cheap flash for a Nikon d3000. worried about trigger voltage.

the.j129

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! this is my first post..and i'm just a novice, so please forgive me for any mistakes I make here.

okay.. I'm looking to buy a flash for my nikon d3000. I'd like the guide number to be more than 20m at the minimum.

The inbuilt flash on the d3000 serves me brilliantly and I only need an external flash for some situations where I need more light. like at night, or parties and gatherings with insufficient light.

I'm worried about trigger voltage from Non-Nikon flashes... and i've read conflicting stuff on the internet..some say my camera supports 8v some say 250volts.. so i really don't know.

could you please recommend som flashes that would be cheap..but effective. since I'm not looking for something fancy.

what about these?- On Camera Flashes

so i guess my main questions boil down to-
1.I'm just looking for some recommendations in this range. (35-50)
2.whether they will be compatible with my d3000. in accordance with the trigger voltage
3.and finally what's iTTL? and how do these generic ones differ?

Go to strobist.com and learn about off camera flash. Pictures taken with your built in flash don't usually look that great so I highly recommend reading up on lighting. Strobist also recommends flashes.

1. I can't provide a recommendation because I don't use third-party flashes. 2. A flash that lists as compatible with Nikon TTL will work with the D3000. If you are concerned, or you just want to buy a really cool piece of inexpensive equipment that would eliminate any potential cross-circuiting, get a set of Cowboy Studio Wireless triggers ($25).