Cheap tripod? :)

TheFapR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey! Got my first DSLR (D3200 with 18-55 kit lens) yesterday and went out trying to learn me how to use different setting which is really ****ing hard, atleast for a beginner like me! Now to my real problem.. I need a tripod that i can position where i want the camera to point at.. Now in the start i will take some photos of the starskies, so i dont want the stars to be blury (see pic below).. I will use a 10 second timer to get away and then the camera will take the shot with a long exposure. The 'tripod' i have now is a fixed head so if i wanna have the camera point upwards or downwards i have to have 2 long legs in the front and 1 short on the back so it points upwards.. If i do that it falls over so i have to hold it up which is annoying af..!

100$ MAX

This pic is a test shot taken from my backyard, tell me what i have to change in the settings and so on because im a noob.. (The tripod made the stars look out of position)..

Exposure: 30 seconds.. Aperture: 3.5 18 millimeter. Dont remember the iso!..

Attachments

• foi.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 147
Last edited by a moderator:
Look for something used for that price. I think you see that a cheap tripod is not the way to go. Used is the only way to get something that will be sturdy.

You could also consider getting a different head for your current tripod. Vanguard makes some good ball heads for less than $100. Those will allow you to tilt the camera up without having the worry of it falling over.

I was not aware that some tripods have a fixed head. What kind of tripod do you have?