cheap wiress digital photography

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by deamer, Jan 28, 2006.

1. deamer

deamer TPF Noob!

I am a student doing and engineering project at college. We have are designing an aeriel camera with the use of a kite we are presently designing and constructing. We are looking for the cheapest way to have a digital camera mounted to the kite which can send us a live signal back to the ground which could be displayed on a laptop, lcd screen, etc so we can see what we are snapping photos of. The problem is the wireless digital cameras I have found are all out of our price range. The second problem is that the only power source we will have up there is batteries....any suggestions or ideas on how we could go about accomplishing this would be more than appreciated,
    Thanks
    Doug

2. hobbes28

hobbes28 Incredible Supporting Member

The Nikon Coolpix P1 is about the cheapest on the market, I think, and you can find it for as cheap as $300 if you look around enough. They sell at major retailers for $400 but, depending on how many people are working on the project, it could be pretty cheap per student. Other than that, I have no idea.

3. markc

markc TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You mention a live signal, so I guess you are looking for a video camera. This forum is more geared towards still imagery. You might want to try a video forum or one that deals with hacking electronics.

4. deamer

deamer TPF Noob!

Thanks for the reply...I know it's probably impossible to find anything very much cheaper, but thats still a little pricey...the thing is we only need at least 2 megapixels. After some more though I was wondering if there is anyway to broadcast/send a signal from the camera back to the ground via a transmitter or modem and then pick it up on the ground...then we could incorporate a shutter mechanism into our pan/tilt system???dunno its just an idea?

5. deamer

deamer TPF Noob!