Check out the vintage cameras on this blog

gbarce

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi.

I'm new to this forum.

I just wanted to share these recent posts on my blogs on some vintage cameras that we took out of storage for some spring cleaning.

Here's the link:

This Old House: Cameras

Check them out.

I was also hoping that you could educate me on these old cameras.

I am taking up photography as a hobby but I am just limiting myself to digital phoography at this point.

The Rolleiflex is popular and stilles used by many (I don't have one myself though). The Leicas ofcourse are fantastic. Personaly I like the feel of the Exakta. I'm not an expert of any of these though, just wanted to say: nice posts :)

Hi.

I'm new to this forum.

I just wanted to share these recent posts on my blogs on some vintage cameras that we took out of storage for some spring cleaning.

Here's the link:

This Old House: Cameras

Check them out.

I was also hoping that you could educate me on these old cameras.

I am taking up photography as a hobby but I am just limiting myself to digital phoography at this point.

Thanks for the link!

What do you need to know about these cameras or collecting? Ask away...

Well - first off I guess is how do I get them nice and running?

I live in the Philippines and I am not sure if there are any specialty shops that service old cameras like these. But its pretty daunting to do it myself-- there is the nagging fear that I may do more harm than good.

1) Off hand I guess cleaning the lens is a first step. With somany years of grime and dust on them --is there a special way of cleaning them?

2) How do I clean the insides?

3) What parts are the most problematic in old cameras? Which parts should I check first