Child Photography

NMLHaley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I'm just starting out in photography but I have a shoot tomorrow for 1-yr-old birthday photos. It's actually my nephew and I'll just be going over to the house and shooting in natural light. My style is more photojournalistic with less formal shots. I have a 40D, a 28-135 mm lens, and a 300 mm lens. Just looking for any recommendations for shooting with kids, especially some ideas for creativity. I want to shoot a lot but also have a wide variety. Thanks!

Hello all. I'm just starting out in photography but I have a shoot tomorrow for 1-yr-old birthday photos. It's actually my nephew and I'll just be going over to the house and shooting in natural light. My style is more photojournalistic with less formal shots. I have a 40D, a 28-135 mm lens, and a 300 mm lens. Just looking for any recommendations for shooting with kids, especially some ideas for creativity. I want to shoot a lot but also have a wide variety. Thanks!

The most important one is get down on their level. I crawl around on the floor with them and after a while they don't even notice me, which is when you can get some very natural photos. I use 28mm most of the time, since it gives a good focus range even without flash. Obviously don't shoot toward the window or you will get silhouettes. Watch your shutter speed carefully because if they are moving, it will need to be faster.

skieur

I agree, get down and shoot on their level. Also, when shooting 'photojournalistic' style portraits, try hard to avoid distracting backgrounds. That will make the difference between a snap shot and a nice portrait.

Lastly, you might have a hard time getting usable shutter speeds with indoor lighting and slower lenses. Don't be afraid to boost the ISO up to 800 or 1600 if needed to avoid blur...just make sure to 'Expose to the Right' to avoid noise.