Choosing a digital camera for beginners.

yanuk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, I've been browsing this great site for a while before registering to share a project I've pieced together. Instead of asking questions, I've pieced together a beginners guide to choosing a digital camera.

I've put this project together because as a photographer, my friends are always asking me what is the best camera to buy and with all the features that are being offered like image stabliser, high iso, wide angle, it does get a bit intimidating at first. I'm sure many photography enthusiasts in here are also highly regarded by friends.

I hope that this little project will help other photographers in here answer their friends as well!

Thanks for the info. I am thinking about the Canon XSI and it says it has a CMOS sensor. The specs are here: http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/c...ategoryid=139&modelid=16303#ModelTechSpecsAct

What does everyone think of this, advantages/disadvantages? What about the Digic III processor, is it worth it?

As for what I want: I would like to be able to go as far as possible with a camera until I am forced to get a new one to get the quality or features I want. The lenses I purchase along the way would need to be compatible with the next camera, for the most part. I have a Canon 35mm film and like the Canon format.

Going back and checking the specs on most of the Canon DSLRs, they seem to all be using the CMOS sensor.

When a professional looks at a new camera, what does he/she look at on a specification sheet from the manufacturer?

Going back and checking the specs on most of the Canon DSLRs, they seem to all be using the CMOS sensor.

When a professional looks at a new camera, what does he/she look at on a specification sheet from the manufacturer?