Choosing a DSLR as a beginner.

MadsKaizer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello All

I am a 26 year old electrician from Denmark and among my hobbies you will find high voltage and being a soldier. Just to give an idea of what field I will be using a future camera.

As for the High voltage its very bright streamers/sparks/flame-like electrical discharges into air or other materials, common is high UV, high speeds (firing from 1 to 200+ fps) and often photographed in the darkness.

As for being a soldier its mostly "nature shots" and action pictures.

I currently have a Canon Ixus 70 and hopefully I can mention a compact here without being booted out, its also running with CHDK software for manually doing all settings as shutter speed and iso levels, its all been fun and games and I just new something better. Here is a good example of what kind of pictures I am doing.

High voltage pictures: http://www.disorder.dk/?page_id=100

Army pictures: http://www.disorder.dk/?cat=8

I have been talking to friends that own a dslr, reading reviews and drooled abit over this and that :)

So what I have come down to is basicly 3 cameras, Canon EOS 450D, Olympus E-420 and Canon Exilim EX-F1.

In Denmark I can get them at the following prices:

Canon EOS 450D, 18-55mm IS lens kit, about 920$
Olympus E-420, 14-42mm + 40-150mm lens kit, about 800$
Casio Exilim EX-F1, 1180$

The 450D really is from my understanding a really good camera and takes some great crisp pictures but comes with only one lens.

The E-420 comes with 2 lenses and is the cheapest of the 3 but it also seems to have more noise at lower iso levels, atleast in the reviews I have seen.