Christmas Portraits for C&C please.

Stamp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
The Wife asked if we could take some Christmas portraits tonight when I got off work, of course I said yes. So I grabbed the two table top lights, positioned them as best as I thought, and got everything else set up. All comments and critique is appreciated!

1. 1/60 sec, f2.0, ISO 400
4206857147_056c2ce0d1_b.jpg

2. 1/60 sec, f2.0, ISO 400
4207617666_656714e2a7_b.jpg

3. 1/50 sec, f2.8, ISO 800
4206859885_1523aef5dd_b.jpg

p.s. As you can see, I decided to get a nifty photo watermark like everyone else. ;)

I'm a noob but the biggest thing I can see is the shadows on the wall are detracting. Maybe change the light position to more in front of the subjects to move the shadows away from the wall. Just my $.02 worth.

I'm a noob but the biggest thing I can see is the shadows on the wall are detracting. Maybe change the light position to more in front of the subjects to move the shadows away from the wall. Just my $.02 worth.

Being a noob doesn't de-value your input ... You still have an opinon.... That's good stuff.. I kind of thought the same thing when I was PP'ing them.

Maybe a bounce flash would help eliminate that... not sure though... anyone have input on getting rid of those shadows?

Attractive family you have there.

The shadows are killing the shots.

1/50 & 1/60 second was way too slow. Notice the motion blur.

Be mindful of the missing digits.... fingers/hands.

Move the tree from the corner to help even out the background and avoid the crease.

Lower yourselves and/or raise the tree to have more if it to fill the frame.

Move yourselves further away from the tree to add separation.

Because of the distance (depth) from front to back of yourselves, try stopping down the lens (f/4 to f/6.1) to increase the DoF. A better chance that everyone is in focus.

Prefocus on one person, then turn AF off.