Clarification? Canon 1DIII, 1DIV, 1DsIII

mrmacedonian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I attempted to search the forum several times to get a clarification from a former thread but I failed to find one. I've heard places that each camera has its "niche" (sports vs. studio, etc.) but looking through the specs, being a novice, I can't discern these niches. also, I wonder why the highest price-point model wouldn't coalesce the abilities of the lesser. I may be naive but the 7k pricetag i'd want to use it all the time >_<.

any way, i'm not the type thats afraid of doing my own research but if someone could point me in the right direction i would be grateful.

andrej

well the 1dIV is the new version of the 1dIII, this line of cameras is designed with more of a focus on speed, so fast framerate (~10fps), fast and accurate auto focus and fast processing - these features makes it better for sports and fast paced photography.

the 1Ds line signifies that it is a full frame camera (rather than the 1.3x crop as in the 1dIV/III/II/I), and replaces speed with sheer image quality. having to move that much more information lowers the frame rate from 10fps to something like 4 or 5fps - not ideal for shooting f1 cars going 200mph.

basically one is faster, the other has better image quality.
i hope i explained it clearly enough and helped you understand

Most of the worlds top sports photographers actually use the 1Dsmk3 and not the 1dmk3/4