Cleaning?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by mitsugirly, Jan 27, 2009.

1. mitsugirly

mitsugirly TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    As everyone knows, I just got my camera and I'm new to this dslr thing.

What kind of cleaning kit do I need to maintain the camera? Certain items that I will need? I have seen others talk about some type of "lens blower" and was wondering what type of "cleaning kit" should I purchase? Are these in any camera store? Walmart? Ebay?

Thanks and sorry for the noob question. I just want to make sure that I take good care of my investment.

2. dEARlEADER

dEARlEADER TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    What are you shooting ? a D90 i think?

The self cleaning sensor seems to work pretty well... I change my lenses often and have only had to blow the sensor once this year...

Giottos rocket blower works for me... check it out on google

I wouldn't clean the internals until you see dust in your images. No sense mucking about.

3. mitsugirly

mitsugirly TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I have a Sony a300.

I have the self cleaning sensor, but I thought maybe I was suppose to blow it off in between changing lens or something. Also, do you just use one of those dust clinging clothes to wipe of the outside of the lens? I don't want to damage it or scratch it.

Is it a good thing to buy the screen protectors on the view finder?

4. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've moved your thread out of the film section, you will get more hits out here. ;)

Keep the outside clean and use a bulb blower or soft brush to get rid of dirt & dust.
    A DSLR cameras also needs to have the sensor cleaned from time to time. To see how dirty your sensor is, put it into aperture priority mode and set an apperture of F22 (give or take) and take a photo of a blank wall. If there are any dust spots, they will show up in the images as specs or blobs.