Clear pictures in an ice rink?

B_Lindzy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

Well I'm tring to get some nice pictures of my boys in their hockey games and haveing some problems. The biggest is that my pictures are comming out very grainy to put it some way. With the ice and lighting it is pretty bright in the rink but I don't think that is the problem.I'm new to actually tring to get "good" shots that I would like to display so any help would be great. I also don't know everything about the different settings on digital cams.

I have a Olympus SP-55ouz.

Thanks,
Brett

You might want to put up an example picture even though they probably already know what you mean.

Are you using it with the scene mode set on sports?
If so, maybe the camera drives up the ISO to get a real fast shutter speed and that results in noisy/grainy pictures. Typically on this type of camera you won't be able to get anything not grainy with an ISO higher than 400.
If you are not doing so at the moment, it might be time to go fully manual, or Speed priority. Try ISO 200 and 1/200 sec. It's just a guess right now, but depending on how much you need to zoom it might work.
Then play around with the shutter speed and ISO to get the look you want.

I like to add my guessing since I don't know what kind of camera this is.

The white snow scenery dominating the scene, and that what make you think it is bright scene. But when you aim to shoot, your subject are people in the field with dark clothes, darker than the white snow, and that what the camera sees - dark objects. ISO than is increased to compensate the lack of light. It is catch 22.

The best way is to use manual and don't shoot the fast moving players. If this also still does not work than just have fun cheering or booing them.

I've recently shot a big provincial hockey and ringette event and did a lot of research on shooting hockey in an indoor arena. Typically the lighting in there is not very good at all.