close up set up

dwilliams

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I have a Nikon D60 and I am trying to take good pictures of briar pipes for my website ( Home ).

We have had hit and miss efforts so far using sunlight, flash, fluorescent in turn.

We also have a light box affair that lets light in and are placing the pipes on a white cloth background.

I have tried the ordinary zoom lens and a macro lens with varying apertures, shutter speeds and ISO settings (as well as the AUTO settings) and I am very disappointed with the results we are getting. I can to some extent improve the pictures using Photoshop but I still feel the photo's leave a lot to be desired.

I am new to DSLR (well - photography really), and I am quite baffled why this is the case. I have a tripod also to steady the camera and a big flash thingy (with a manual as big as the New Testament).

Can any give me a rough idea of what settings I need to be using and how far away from the object I need to be. Do I need the macro lens? What lighting do I need.

The main problems are focus, brightness, and an off colour background.

Any help would be much apprecuated.

Thank you

David

Welcome to the forum.

It will really help if you can show us some specific examples of what you are getting, and maybe an example of the type of shot you want to achieve.

Hi Mike,
Thanks for your reply. How do I post a picture. I uploaded two pics to my members gallery - will you be able to find them or do I need to do something else?

Cheers

Dave

Yeah, I have no idea why ... At least you figured it out lol.

Try this link:

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...forum-functions-pictoral-guide-using-tpf.html

I am new to DSLR (well - photography really), and I am quite baffled why this is the case.

Why? It's the photographer that makes the image, the camera/lens just records the image the photographer made.