Colorado Springs Panorama (Link)

Discussion in 'General Gallery' started by drdan, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. drdan

    drdan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I provided a link instead of loading it to the page. It's pretty big, 1.48MB which is resized down from 9.39MB. This is the new snow on the mountains about 10:00am Easter morning. The mountain on the right is Pikes Peak and the mountain on the far left is Cheyenne Mountain which houses NORAD (it's built into the mountain). Any suggestions for better panoramas would be appreciated. This is the first one in PS that I've done.

    http://www.drdansinfo.com/Panorama_Easter_04_edited_resized.jpg
     
  2. drdan

    drdan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    So, anybody on dial up actually wait for it to load? :lol:
     
  3. Jeff Canes

    Jeff Canes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Hollywood, FLA USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi Doc.

    Nice job, the only place I see seams is a long fence and in shadows on the left edge of the field, I assume you used a tripod, who many frames did you use and what is the over lap of each
     
  4. terri

    terri Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    25,350
    Likes Received:
    2,093
    Location:
    In the mental ward of this forum
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hey, that's a beautiful shot! I can't say I noticed any seams, but I wasn't really looking for them, I was admiring the view. :D
     
  5. drdan

    drdan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I did use a tripod and was not that careful about overlap. I believe there were five picture put together for this. I just decided to snap some in case I got around to trying panorama in PS. I have to say the Camedia software with my old Olympus did a better job but in that case the camera has to be set in panorama mode and has framing lines to get the overlap right. I think exposure is set and kept the same for all in the series too.
     
  6. andre_gwynt

    andre_gwynt TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    On the road in Europe, Middle East or Africa.
    Creat panorma. I like to take these shots at very special places. I have difficulty stiching them together as the air never seems to have the same shading at the adges of my images. It must be my cheap camera making things difficult for me. I will buy a better one soon and then do the same you did, freeze the lighting.
     
  7. Harpper

    Harpper TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Your panoramic really gives me a good feel for how enormous your mountain range is. It also makes for a good background. :wink: Good job with the stitching. It almost seems like you actually took it with a large panoramic camera.
     
  8. mrsid99

    mrsid99 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    Looks darn good to me!
    I think it would look neat if you zoomed in somewhat to eliminate much of the foreground and show more of the mountains, just a thought.
    You've set me thinking about where I can try this now.
     

Share This Page