Coming out of the shadows....

jwilly1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been lurking in the background of this site for a couple of years now, soaking up the wealth of knowledge that you all bring to the table. I have messed around with photography since I was a teen, but never took it too seriously. I bought an entry level Nikon D3100 several years ago, and well, you know how it goes from there... I'm an amateur that may looking at considering this as something more serious than a hobby in the near future.
My wife is fantastic! She lets me practice on her pretty much whenever, so you will probably be seeing quite a bit of her until I can convince someone else that I can really do this stuff. I guess you all will be the judge of that. Anyway, here are a couple that were taken at the beginning of the year, as I just started to venture into studio flash photography. Any and all critique is encouraged and welcomed. I'm here to get insight from people that, without question, certainly know more than I. Thank You for taking the time to let me have it!

The two photos below were taken with a Nikon VR f/4-5.6G lens @ F/5.6, 1/200s, ISO 100 in manual mode. Two Flashpoint 150W strobes were used, more or less at 45 degree off center to either side, the main with a 60" umbrella, and the other with a 17" beauty dish.

PHOTO 1
STANDING RED SHIRT DSC_0054.jpg

PHOTO 2
HANDS ON HIPS 5X7 DSC_0033.jpg

The lighting isn't bad at all; I might try and pull the key around a little further image left as a lot of it is hitting her hair (#1) and maybe drop the power 1/3 stop or so. Her face and teeth seem just a bit 'off' to me; did you do some smoothing and such?

I like lighting and poses in these. I also see some processing. Good job!

I like lighting and poses in these. I also see some processing. Good job!