Comments please?

tetrasect

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

So I started playing with HDR techniques a few weeks back, took this pic the other day and would love some input from people who actually know what they are talking about, as opposed to friends and family saying "great job!".

I'm actually pretty surprised at how nice it turned out, though I may try to avoid the extreme lens flare next time (think there was even a bit of a water splotch on the lens).
Does anyone have any pointers on how to get the area around the sun looking better? It was pretty grey so I cranked up the saturation in that area but it still seems off...

Any criticism is appreciated! :)

MMrn552.jpg

Does anyone have any pointers on how to get the area around the sun looking better?

Don't include the sun in your frame when shooting and use a lens hood.

Also the image is way over processed.

Welcome! You will see this comment ALOT... "Too over-processed for me"
thats ok, not everyone likes the same treatment.
I am pretty new to HDR and have purchased the Photomatix to play with. Keep at it and some will chime in with more help :)
overall, I like the photo, but again, others with more experience will comment.
Nancy

The over processing causes a very noticeable halo above the hills in the distance.

Yes, some like the surrealism an over processed HDR evokes.
IMO, the black borders top/bottom also do not help.

Ok, well keep trying- Room for improvement here.

I would clone out those sensor dust spots in the sky. I understand the surrealistic, HDR-like look you're shooting for, but I think it needs to have the mid-tones be much brighter: you have a brilliant, blinding sun, but the exposure level and the mid-tone brightness is way too low to represent this kind of a bluebird day.

Thanks for the comments so far!