Complete "noob" trying to take portrait photos

Pixel Hunter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm sitting here at my desk at work. I have my Nikon D5100 in hand, and I'm tasked with taking portrait "head-shots" of everyone so I can use them for user accounts/Outlook/etc. My end goal is to have 200x200 pixel photos of everyone that don't completely suck. But given the use and size, they also don't need to be professional portrait quality.

Problem is, I'm getting pictures that are completely blown out, and I'm having trouble remembering how to set the camera and flash. I'm not typically a people-picture person. My focus (pun not intended) has always been on landscape, architecture, and macro photography. FYI: I've never used this speedlight before!

Any guidance on settings would be greatly appreciated!

(Nikon D5100, Sigma 105mm Macro lens, Neewer 750II Speedlight. I should also mention I'm in an office environment with fluorescent lighting and mostly bland and neutral walls.)

Shutter speed controls ambient, aperture controls flash exposure. So use a smaller aperture if it's overexposed and/or turn your flash power down. Check you've not got the ISO set high by mistake too.

I'd start by putting the flash in manual, set your aperture to f5.6, shutter speed to your sync speed (normally around 1/200th sec) put flash on lowest power and take some test shots. Adjust from there

Use a modifier to diffuse the flash. Get something (like a cable or RF trigger) that will fire the flash when it is not mounted on top of the camera. Place your flash to one side. Learn how to set up a flash photograph. Do not mix lighting types, such as fluorescent and flash. (Turn off the fluorescent lights, or keep your shutter speed high enough that the ambient light will not show up.)