Complete Novice Photographer (Some help?)

JoshKbosh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Remove d

Last edited:
Forget any and all Nikon Ai or Ai-S series manual focusing lenses. FORGET them! They will give you no light metering, and no autofocus, and only manual flash power adjustment. I own a D70...it was designed for AF and AF-D lenses, as well as the newer AF-S and AF-S G-series lenses. You want to look at ONLY AF, AF-D, or AF-S lenses.

Because of the 1.5x FOV multiplier, it's very helpful to have a lens that has a short lower end on it, like even the 18-55 "kit zoom", or the more useful, older 18-70mm lens from Nikon. There were some older AF-D lenses made that are pretty affordable, like the little 28-80mm models, and others in that lower price range. KEH.com has a huge selection of used Nikon lenses.

If money is tight a second hand kit lens is probably the best buy. $50 is pushing it to get anything useable though. Possibly a second hand nifty fifty might do you a while too.

I'd reccomend saving up for a Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4 OS HSM Contemporary. Its reasonably low cost (as far as decent lenses go) reasonably sharp and can cover a lot of the photography basics (wide angle to short telephoto, low light at the wide end, pretty sharp throught the focal range, optical stabilisation and very versitile). If you are shooting products you'll want a copy of Light, Science and Magic (a much reccommended book on lighting) plus a speedlight (try yonguno for decent budget options and check out the strobist blog: especially his lighting 101 tutorials) and a few modifiers though you can make decent enough DIY lighting modifiers.

For starter, nothing beat the 18-55mm kit lens.