completely new to the "sport"

spirosnm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all.

I am completely new to this. I hope my question has not been answered already at another thread, but from the little research I ve made I think not. So here it goes.

I like taking photographs and until now i have been doing it with a Sony DSC-P51 Cybershot (2.0 MP - don't laugh I know it is an old one :blushing:) and because technology runs wild as we all know, I recently got a mobile phone (SE K800i) with a 3.2 MP in order to have it all the time on me and being able to take fotos in my everyday life without carrying 2 devices (you do always carry a mobile phone right ??)

As written above I like photographs and I was thinking of getting more involved (as an amateur of course) by being able to "control" my fotos instead of letting the cybershot do it all by itself (autofocus, etc).

That for what would you suggest as equipment for a newbie (and which models) so that I won't invest a lot of money in this first step until I discover I really fancy it ?

I would want the gear to have a very good value/usage ratio... All suggestions would be more than appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

to be honest in your position i wouldn't know what to suggest, seeing as you're not sure you want to take it up as a hobby as you say "discover if i really fancy it", but what i did was i had/have a normal P&S digicam (fujifilm, 2.0mp also) and spent a long time using it (3 years or so) for photography and not just taking photos at parties etc., all the photos on my blogger blog were taken with my P&S, after spending a long time using it i noticed i wanted to further in photography so i got the Canon 400d bought for me...i suggest you stick with what you've got and see if you really like it...theres no point spending a lot of money or something more advanced and then not liking it