Composite C&C

CorrieMichael

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay so I think I struggle and suck at making composites look real. I always feel like something is missing but can't quite put my finger on it. What do you think about this one?
IMG_6182cmlogopng.png

I'm no expert at this sort of thing, but what jars with me is that the lighting on the witch and some of the birds does not seem to be as expected given the apparent light source. The position of the witch on the broomstick also seems very contrived and unnatural.

I think it looks pretty good! :smile:

I do agree about the lighting, though. It's not so apparent with the witch, but the color of the birds gives it away. Maybe try to fix their coloring to match?

(Also, if I really nitpick, I can tell that the bird below her shoe is the same as the bird in front of her--if it's not the same bird, they must be twins :allteeth:. Maybe remove one of them?)

To me, the jarring/unnatural part is her pose...Just doesn't look like she's flying to me. Not sure exactly what would need to change? More implied movement, perhaps?

Edit: Maybe place a big fan in front of her or something to make her hair/clothing blow about a bit?

Thanks everyone! I agree with all of the points and something I need to change for the next time! Thanks again!

I always like to warn people that I am picky, so take this with a grain of salt as my only intent is to give you a proper critique. Remember, the more complex an image is the more that can go wrong. This is an extremely complex shot you're trying to pull off and you did a pretty good job all things considered. Most clients would be happy with an image like this, but more professional clients would definitely expect a lot more.

So warning applied here are the points I think that would need to get cleaned up to make this a show stopper: