Composition - do I have the right idea?

Kathleen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I may be a little confused on the concept of composition. This is my understanding, please correct me if I'm wrong, and please explain.

Looking for photo opportunities I try to scope out the whole scene before shooting. I believe that composition consists of creating a mood, sparking ones imagination, evoking inner emotions and in hopefully some cases telling a story for the viewer of the photo. Am I totally lost?

I'm a beginner, this is one of my first shots with my Canon Rebel...

It looks pretty good but it could be better. Its also sorta hard to give advice on comp when you arent there to look around and such.

In my own experience, the best way to check your composition is to just look at the screen or veiwfinder and try different angles. Play around a few minutes standing in different spots, getting different things in the picture, maybe get a couple from near ground level and conversely some from a higher perspective.

Basically, to me compostition is a feel for what looks right to you and I think its sort of hard to learn. I dont know what others will say about it, but you can always be aware of what makes other shots (be it your own or others) look good or bad and learn from that. At any rate, keep taking pictures, analyzing them, and growing from them and most importantly have fun!

So I'm wrong in what I thought composition was? I thought the photo was suppose to say something. Unless I misunderstood your comment, composition is taking into account such things as lighting, camera settings, location, etc.?

Kathleen, I'm still starting out, so please take my comments with a grain of salt.