Concert Photopraphy

Redsand187

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm going to a concert next month in Seattle. One of the guest performers happens to be one of my all time idols... Jerry Cantrell.

So I was thinking maybe I should tote my camera along and try to get a couple of priceless shots of him. Only problem... I've never done this kind of work before.

The concert is The Hendrix Experience featuring Buddy Guy, and a handfull of other great performers. It is being held in Seattle's Paramount Theater. Which is an, about 3000 person theater. My seats are 20 rows back nearly dead center on the main floor. Obviously no flash is allowed.

My lens aren't ideal. I was thinking probably just bringing my 70-300 Tech-10. I figure that would give me some distance.

So my main questions are, what speed film should I use? 800? 1600?
What shutter speed should a I use? I'm thinking 1/30-1/45. I'm assuming I set speed priority, and let the camera adjust the apperature it's self.

What are some tips for a good picture?
Thanks Everyone!

Im always asking these questions here myself!

However, I have taken lots of concert photography.
You wouldnt want the flash anyway, as it will only show up the backs of people's heads in front. There *should* be enough lighting from the stage from that far back.
Yeah, I wouldnt take any big lens' along. Security would get a bit narky about that.

Generally 800 speed film is good enough.
As far as the speed goes, you'll have to wait till one of these pros around here comes along. Im never sure myself.

Good luck and come and show us the results when you return!

I love shooting bands and have done quite a bit of it in black&white. I've offered to shoot bands in the Twin Cities and a few have asked me to get some color shots of their shows. Yikes....color! Not my favorite, but I'll give it a shot.