Concert photos without a flash!Please help, Im clueless!

jadinew

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

I'm totally new to photography and to this forum. I am in fact a journalist and usually just review music gigs. However, I have been given the opportunity to take photos from the photography pit at an upoming gig. I will be really close to the action, only problem is I am not allowed to use a flash. I will be using a Minolta Dynax 404si with a 28-80mm AF lens, without a tripod.

Does anyone have any advice as to how I will get the best results?
I'm just a bit worried about lighting, camera-shake etc.

Thank you so much, I feel a bit out of my depth!

I'll take a stab at this since no one else has answered yet, though I don't consider myself an authority on photography by any means. That being said, I think you are going to have a difficult time ahead of you.
First, the flash would be essentially useless anyway, unless you can be w/in about 10 feet since the effective range typically isn't much beyond that. It's been a while since I've been to a concert, but the lighting is generally quite poor except for the stage itself. Therefore, you will need to let the camera absorb a lot of available ambient light to properly expose the picture. This will mean having a higher setting for the ISO (probably 800 at least) and slower shutter speed. The downside is that with a slower shutter speed is that you are going to have a difficult time holding it steady enough to avoid camera shake, and in addition, the band is going to be moving as well.
So, I would practice, practice, practice with low light conditions and different camera settings before the concert. Hope this helps some, and there will probably be others more experienced than I to chime in as well.
jc

Thanks Johnboy. I am going to be right in front of the stage, so it's a shame I can't use my flash but I will definitely have a play around with different films/shutter speeds before the gig to see what works best.