Concert Photos

JCk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I am new to both photography and this forum, and would like to ask a few questions.

I design the lighting for concerts, theatre, etc and I need to keep a record of what I do by taking photos. This is not only for my personal benefit, but I would also like to put the photos on my website.

I have a Canon EOS 350D with the lens that came with it (18-55mm) however this lens does not perform well in low light conditions. It works OK with a flash, however I want to capture what the audience sees, and a flash does not allow this.

Could someone please recomend a lens for me that doesn't involve me forking out too much cash??

I have been looking at the Tamron 28-75mm f2.8, any thaughts on this?

Cheers

Check out some reviews on amazon and fredmiranda.com
http://www.fredmiranda.com/reviews/showproduct.php?product=246&sort=7&cat=43&page=1
Some people like zoom, some like prime lenses.
It also depends on how much light you have to work with and if you want to shoot at high isos.

Another lens to consider is the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 and of course the Canon 50mm f/1.8. With the coversion factor the 30mm is a 50 and the 50 is an 80. The sigma is also 1 and 2/3 stops faster than the tamron

I have the same camera and bought the Canon 50mm 1.8f leans. It's very a very cheap purchase and I get some great concert photos. The big aperture makes for great shots in the low light. One of my photos taken using this was used in an album sleeve of a well known band and you can imagine I was pretty cuffed with that. Here are my live concert pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cttm/sets/72157594224415641/

The first few I took in the set are taken with the kit lens and you can see the difference!

Fiendish Astronaught:
wow...those are some great photos! i wish i could take some like that!
what iso setting did you use btw? were the 50mm 1.8 & the 18-55mm the only lenses you used?