confused about slaves and flashes

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by anthonydamario, Jan 28, 2010.

1. anthonydamario

anthonydamario TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm pretty new to photography, and I have a pretty decent flash that has a slave feature that I use with my D70's on camera flash sometimes. I'm confused about radio slaves and how they work, is it some sort of sensor? If I was thinking about buying a pocketwizard or something, would I need to buy more than one? And is there anything cheaper than pocketwizards?

2. Goontz

Goontz TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Radio triggers are just another way to trigger an off camera flash. Rather than the slave flash needing to "see" the triggering flash (your pop up) before firing, a radio signal is sent from the radio trigger (attached to your camera), to the receiver (attached to the flash), that tells it to fire. They're generally much more reliable than other methods, while providing wireless capability for off-camera flash.

Check out http://strobist.blogspot.com/, specifically, their Lighting 101 section.

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The system that is built into your camera/flash uses light pulses/flashes to communicate between the 'master' and the 'slave'. This communication allows you to fire and control the remote 'slave' flash. It gives you automatic flash metering (CLS) etc.

The problem is that light pulses aren't always a reliable communication, especially outdoors. That is why many photographers use radio flash triggers.