Confused between D550, Nikon D3200, Nikon D5100

santanu034

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Guys,

I want to buy a DSLR. Let me tell you I am not a professional but clicking pics fpr past 2 years. Its my passion. I want to improve my skills. I have a Nikon L120.
Now I am confused between these 3 cameras.

1. Nikon D5100
2. Canon EOS 550D
3. Nikon D3200

Please help me in buying a camera. Budget betweek 30K - 35K

Thanks and Regards,
Santanu :thumbup:

They are 3 different cameras. What's confusing about them?

With a budget like yours, get a Leica.

Welcome Santanu. When asking help, consider that this place is mostly US-centric, so at your wakeup time (and mine too) most members sleep, and unless specified, money is expressed in US dollars. 30000$ would be a really good budget to buy all three cameras plus some good lenses.
I do not know how much is really your budget and how much do these cameras cost in your country, however if it exceeds the basic camera cost, consider also some extra lens.
In terms of image quality, the two Nikon could be better than Canon, depending also on photographer. To learn, any is good.

If you have already been shooting for two years, and really want to improve your photography, skip the D3200 and the D5100 and get a used D90. it will give you more options, more features, and a bigger choice of lenses that will autofocus.

Hi,

Thanks for replying. I am talking about a budget of 30 - 35K Indian currency i.e 700 - 780 US dollars.. :p

$700-$800 US would certainly get you a used D90 in good shape as well as a lens or two depending on what you get, and whether the lenses are new or used.
Apologies if i start sounding like a broken record about the D90, I just think right now its the best bang for the buck if you want to move up to more advanced bodys later.
and especially if you want to be able to take full advantage of the used lens market.

* Thread moved * ... per Beginner's forum description: