Confused Newbie needs advice

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Tazu, Jan 16, 2010.

1. Tazu

Tazu TPF Noob!

Hello,

I am new to the world of Digital photography but not new to photography. I was a fervent amateur photograph many years ago and had a Nikon F and Nikon F2 which I have no more. I am considering to chose between a Nikon D90 or a Nikon D5000.

Reading several reviews l would pick D90 but reading others the D5000 suddenly looks like a better choice. The few hundred dollars more for the D90 are not a problem but on the other hand I don't want to throw away my money if there is no need. Some people say that the D90 is maybe more expensive but that it will let me grow as a photographer and give me more freedom and among its main advantages of the D90 they name :

On-board Flash Commander function
    Built-in mechanical focus motor
    Larger LCD screen with 4 times more resolution
    Accepts the MB-D80 batter grip
    Dual-scroll wheel controls (vs the single wheel)
    Larger, brighter viewfinder
    Faster continuous shooting.
    Better high ISO performance
    Pentaprism finder instead of pentamirror finder (brighter finder with slightly more frame coverage with more magnification

On the other hand many others say that the picture quality of both cameras is the same and I won't do anything with D90 that can do with the D5000 and for less money + lighter body, swivel screen, better video possibility and that Nikon have upgraded many of the older AF lenses to AFS and Sigma, Tamron and Tokina are offering AF-compatible lens lines for a competitive price.

Can you give some good reasons why I should pick the D90 over the D5000 or the D5000 over the D90? What are the real advantages of each (apart the price which is not an issue)

Thank you in advance

2. FinerWorks

FinerWorks TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit