Considering a switch from Full frame DSLR to mirrorless, have a few questions

CaptainNapalm

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys, this is my first time posting in this neck of the woods (mirorrless section) but I'm considering switching from a full frame DSLR system to mirrorless and looking for some input. I've been shooting as a hobby now for a good few years and know for sure that photography will be a big part of my life moving forward. I started off shooting with the Nikon D5100, then moved onto the D7000 and for the past year or so have been enjoying the D600 full frame camera. I enjoy shooting landscapes, street photography, functions, people and some wildlife such as birds and other animals.

For the past few months though I've noticed that my camera comes with me less than I'd like to. For example, today I went to a family function and decided not to bring my camera bag with all the gear. I knew that it was going to be a tight space with lots of people and just didn't want my bag with the camera, flash and lenses tugging along. Well my sister's boyfriend was there who recently picked up a mirrorless fuji camera and after playing with it for a good hour I really appreciated it's size and function. I came to the realization that if I had a system his size I would literally take it with me everywhere. The DSLR is great for dedicated photo walks but it really is starting to become a burden for me for everything else and I'm finding that I'm missing photo opportunities just because I don't have it with me when I want it.