Consistant cropping on similar product shots.

Eric Nagle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to product photography (actually new to all professional photography). I just shot 15 different vanity/sink tops. I did my best to mark out and document where the tripod legs and at what focal distance I took each exposure at.... but now that the thumbnails are all uploaded and next to each other in a gallery/grid they are not close enough for the store to look professional. I AM expecting to have to adjust each composition manually, but I am wondering if anyone here could share some insight on an efficient workflow to make the best use of my time. Thanks. I shoot in RAW, organize in OSX Lightroom and bridge to Photoshop CC when editing. Thanks in advance.

Some example images, along with the details of your set-up (gear, lighting, etc) would help us analyze things and best suggest ways to improve.

Of course. Im shooting with a Nikon D7000. For this shoot, I shot exclusively with a 18-200 VR and actually set the mode to auto (no flash). I had begun the shoot with 2 continuous lighting 5000k 45W fluorescent bulbs on stands, but I didn't like that they didn't match the temp of some of my overhead room lighting. The two sources were evident in some of the reflections in the stainless. So I just used the overhead shop lights which are very large and bright. My room was completely white with no windows.
Unmatched Thumbnails.png
WHT Back Vanity-19.jpg

A simple way is to load all the images into a single PS file as a separate layer then you can match the size of each layer against one template. Then export each layer as a jpg.

If you don't know how or don't have PS, I'll do it for you, gratis.
Just PM me and I'll let you know what to send and where to send it.

Actually, I don't see any huge problems with these; what is it that you satisfied with?