Contax Rangefinder Carl Zeiss Ikon Jena Sonnar 1.5 5cm

Rylock

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone! I'm new here, and honestly know very little about film cameras.

I came to own this camera via a family friend and was hoping to get a little info/feedback on it.

From what I've researched as of yet, it's a Contax Rangefinder Carl Zeiss Ikon with a Zeiss Jena Sonnar 1.5 5cm.

Any sort of information or pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! Also, I'll probably end up selling it as I'd rather it be with someone who can get use out of it, than sitting on a display shelf in my home. :)

Thanks in advance!

P1040864.jpg

P1040837.jpg

P1040851.jpg

P1040853.jpg

P1040854.jpg

P1040846.jpg

I would start by poking around here, and reading this article for some background. I am not a Contax expert, but that looks like a IIa to me.

Zeiss Contax IIa IIIa

Thanks for the info, found out a lot. :)

So do you think I should post it for sale on here and similar forums, or just toss it on eBay? Looks to be about $200-300 price range from past ebay auctions from what I can tell.

What you have is a Contax IIa made in January of 1952 by Zeiss in Stuttgart, Germany. The camera and the lens seem in very decent shape, barring any mechanical/optical damage and should serve you well if you decide to go film. The Meter on top of the camera is not made for the Contax but rather for the Canon RF series, like Canon P and with the Canons this meter will actually get coupled through their shutter speed dial atop of the cameras.