Contemplating which route to take

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by vmorriss, Apr 19, 2008.

1. vmorriss

vmorriss TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm fairly new to the dSLR market. I've been playing around w/ my roommates old Nikon F2 for a while, but I can't say that I really know a lot about photography, besides what I've been able to dig up on the internet.

I've decided to upgrade from my point-and-shoot to a dslr for two main reasons. Firstly I want to begin taking photos for my college newspaper, and secondly because I plan on studying abroad some time next year, and don't want to pass up the opportunity to take great photos.

I have looked at many basic setups, but what I'm mainly looking for is an average consumer camera, that I won't feel like upgrading for a couple years, and maybe one decent quality walk around lens, and a somewhat decent telephoto.

Since the xsi came out, I was immediately attracted to the xti's price drop. After reading some reviews I thought it might be interesting to get the xti (body only), the Tamron SP AF 17-50mm F/2.8 Di II LD, and the canon 50mm f/1.8 prime lens. That would total to about $1040, and then I might get the Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM ($590ish) sometime later when I have saved up more money.

Alternatively, I was looking at the Nikon d80 paired with the Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 G ED-IF AF-S VR all around lens, which would total for about $1320. I am hesitant to get an all-around lens, as I've heard that the distortion is pretty bad in some areas of the range, the close up performance isn't supposed to be that great, and it is supposed to be soft at points. Most of all, my whole point was to get away form point-and shoots, so why get an all around lens for everything?