Copyrighting photographs..

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by BmDubb, Oct 8, 2009.

1. BmDubb

BmDubb TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello,
    As I am an artist, and have actually had flash art, and paintings stolen... I was wondering how do you go about getting your photographs copyrighted? I plan on putting up a website to showcase my photographs soon, and I want them to be copyrighted so they won't be " stolen "...Just curious how to do it.. How long it takes.. and how much it costs ( Lets, say... per photo? )

2. ErectedGryphon

ErectedGryphon TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
  3. Felix0890

Felix0890 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I was about to ask this. Thanks for posting and thanks Gryph for linking that.

4. epp_b

epp_b No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Copyright is an "opt-out" process, meaning that you don't need to register anything (you can if you choose, but it's optional). When you create a piece of art, it is "automatically" copyrighted.

5. Actor

Actor TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The problem being...

1. You must be able to prove that you created it.
    2. You must be able to prove when you created it.

6. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Some cameras have the ability to embed that info into the photo. I know mine does, not sure about lower end models. EXIF always shows the date taken, and if you used a unique file prefix in camera(again, I know mine can do this, not sure on others) then it wouldn't be difficult to show that you took the picture.

7. musicaleCA

musicaleCA TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit