Could this picture have been better?

deadtoaster2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still pretty new to this so I thought I would go ahead and ask if this picture could have been improved by changing any settings on my camera when I took the image.

I have a Nikon D50 and a Sigma 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6

This picture was taken in "P" Mode at 77mm.
F/4.8 @ 1/40 sec.

I know its not in complete focus but what should I have done to try and avoid the solid white background? I tried multiple WB settings and it didn't really seem to change much.

What would you have changed?

pic1mj4.jpg

Thanks!

First, welcome to the site. You'll find a wealth of knowledge here to help you take better pictures.

The white background is caused by over exposure for that part of the scene. in this picture it looks like it was a trade off to get the subject exposed properly.

Depending on what type of metering you were using (center weighted or spot metering?) the camera will see your subject in the center and realize, ok, the sensor needs X amount of light to be properly exposed. This is great, it has led to a nicely exposed subject without any part of them being too over or under exposed. The problem is that the sky needs lets say 1/3X light, or a third of the light the subject needs to be properly exposed. Since you were metering for the subject, that takes control and so the sky gets over exposed.

Another way to show you this is for silhouette images. You've probably seen these, where there is a sunset with tree's or people who are completely black against the sky, leaving only a silhouette. This is because the people need 3X the light that the sky needs for proper exposure. By metering off the sky, the foreground (tree, person, whatever) naturally gets underexposed, so much that they are rendered completely black.

With me so far? (If not say so and I'll try to explain it better)

Now for the fix: