CPL question

firemedic0135

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey this may be completely supid but here it goes
Why does the cpl filter have a line atop and it rotates.I am guessing the line is for reference for something but dont know what.
Thanks

im horrible at describing things, and im no pro, but a CPL filter rotates so you can help eliminate or increase reflections, and to darken the sky if youre shooting outside. as you rotate it, the sky will get a little "bluer", and reflections will be increased or decreased. they work better depending on the angle your facing the light too, but im not sure about the best angles to use one. hopefully someone who knows more will be by soon to give you more help.

im not sure if it has any other uses, and im also not sure what the line is for. i have 2 different CPL filters, and neither has a line on it.

im horrible at describing things, and im no pro, but a CPL filter rotates so you can help eliminate or increase reflections, and to darken the sky if youre shooting outside. as you rotate it, the sky will get a little "bluer", and reflections will be increased or decreased. they work better depending on the angle your facing the light too, but im not sure about the best angles to use one. hopefully someone who knows more will be by soon to give you more help.

im not sure if it has any other uses, and im also not sure what the line is for. i have 2 different CPL filters, and neither has a line on it.