Crater Lake C&C, crop, and post help

LakeFX

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a free 20x30 metal print and I want to use it for an image of Crater Lake that I made at sunset this summer. I'm struggling with two different issues.

The first is how to crop the image into a 5:4 format. Ideally I would print a wide panorama crop, but those are expensive and I want to use my free print. I may print it that way later if this one turns out well.

The second issue is that I'm fairly new to post processing and I'm not sure what would help the image work more. I'd love some suggestions.

Of course, I'd love some general C&C as well since I always want to learn more.

So here is what I'm working with:

The original image shot with a D90 in M mode and Tokina 12-24 on a tripod, f/18 1.6" exposure iso 200.
DSC_2472.jpg

My first effort at post-processing. Reclaimed some shadows, increased contrast and saturation:
DSC_2472_edit.jpg

And my first effort at cropping. I'm not sure I like this crop, but I struggled to find a 5:4 crop that really works:
DSC_2472_edit_crop1.jpg

Thanks for your help!

I've been using FastStone, but I have access to a lot of other options too.

Is that the right color? There seems to be a lot of pink in there, but it could be correct and I would have to take your word for it.

If not, Here is my version of WB.

Here is where I would crop given the 4x5 aspect ratio that you specified.

DSC_2472_edit - Version 2.jpg

Last edited:
I can't say for sure that the pink is "accurate" because I took this about 6 months ago. I was facing away from the sunset and I do remember interesting colors in the clouds.

I'm not really concerned with accurate color representation. I just want a fun piece of art for the wall, but I want the art to be representative of my work with the camera, not the really low quality of work I would do with a lot of photo editing.

Designer, what did you change with the WB?