Creating my first lighting kit (help?)

jeddman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Gang,

So this is sure to be the first of many posts from me. Not sure why it's taking me so long to join a forum.

I'm really needing some guidance, I've had no experience with Softboxes but I'm wanting to assemble my first kit.

Am I better off to buy everything separately, the stand, the modifier etc. or is there a kit someone could suggest (maybe Westcott?)

This is to be used indoors and sometimes outdoors and is mainly so I can learn more about lighting. I'd rather not get something cheap and flimsy, but would like to stay around the $500 maximum mark price wise.

I'll be using it with an SB-900 and for portraits.

Apologies if I sound a bit vague, I've not got anyone I can speak to in person about photography, none of my friends are photographers. I have been watching loads of YouTube videos though.

Any help or discussion on the matter would be greatly appreciated as I feel as though I'm drowning in options and unsure where the quality lies.

Thanks in advance,

Jesse.

Am I better off to buy everything separately, the stand, the modifier etc. or is there a kit someone could suggest (maybe Westcott?)
Yes, you can purchase everything separately, but because there may be compatibility issues between brands, I recommend that you try to purchase from one dealer who may be able to make suggestions and alert you if there are issues with the parts fitting together properly.

I have one Wescott umbrella, bought from Adorama, and the salesman I spoke with included the correct bracket. It doesn't hurt to call and ask questions before you order.

Could this be a decent option to start off with, it includes a stand: Westcott 43 Apollo Orb Speedlite Kit 2340 B H Photo Video