creating personal website

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by goldie0406, Oct 18, 2009.

1. goldie0406

goldie0406 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie here so please bare with me! I'm really excited in learning more about photography and it's definitely a hobby that I will be keeping for a long long time.

Anyway, I am looking into building my own personal photography site to show off my pictures to all of my friends and family. I've signed up for a domain at Webhostingpage.com but I am still awaiting for my account information. I would like to know if there are any cool semi-pro template that I can download for free or if you could point me to the right direction of signing up for a different hosting company that will provide more support for photography sites.

Thanks in advance for all your help! ;)

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I host my site with Hostgator.com. It's been very good service for a nice low price. I think they do have some basic templates and web site building tools. Many hosting services also have templates & simple site building tools.

3. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Zenfolio and/or SmugMug are geared to photography and you can use your domain name.

4. bigtwinky

bigtwinky No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you are just looking for a place to host and share, you can always have a look at www.flickr.com

I have been using it for a year to host up my various pictures. And while my personal website is nearly done, it will only be showing my favorite / best work while I like to post much more on my flickr.

The free acccount allows you 200 photos while the pro account ($25 per year, $40 per year) will allow unlimited.