Critique my lens Wish List please :)

Fedaykin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
hebercollphotography.wordpress.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to get the most bang for my buck as I am a student and don't have a lot of money, but I've started photography and am quite enthusiastic about it.

For the moment I am assisting my sister shooting some weddings alongside her(she runs a wedding photography business with her husband), I've done 3 so far. And of course a little bit of everything on my own. I've decided on primes mostly as they seem to offer the best value for my money in terms of sharpness/IQ/color/etc. To get the same on zooms I would have to dish out more money than I care to at once.

Note: Realistically speaking I'd say I can get all this in about 3 years, depending on what happens from now till then(read: if I get a better job).

I'd really appreciate any comments, the last thing I want to do is waste my money, what little I have of it.

Here it is:

-Canon EF-S 55-250 f/4-5.6
-Canon EF 35mm f/2.0
-Canon EF 85mm f/1.8
-Canon EF 28mm f/1.8
-Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro (non-IS)
-Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM (non-IS)
-Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L

I'd say the first four are obtainable before Fall of next year, I doubt I could wait more than that. The others are of course much more costly than those, so I'd say those are for 2012.

What do you think?

Primes yes, Macros yes. The 17 thru 200 lenses need to be F2.8 and the 55-250 is useless.

Primes yes, Macros yes. The 17 thru 200 lenses need to be F2.8 and the 55-250 is useless.

I'd love them to be 2.8, but I don't have that kind of money. I am considering skipping the 17-40 and getting the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 though, making it 2.8 and cheaper too, which means I could get it earlier. I am getting the 55-250 as I have a little trip coming up where the focal length will be quite useful but I can't afford the 70-200 f/4L right now, much less the 2.8.