Critique?

neverenderr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I did a shoot yesterday with a friend of mine and I was pretty happy with the end result. I'm still pretty new to this, so I would love it if some of you could give me some feedback on these :] Thanks in advance!

cancer.jpg

innocent.jpg

From a technical standpoint, the color muting is too obvious and amateur-looking. Tone it down a bit. Top left doesn't say anything to me. Top right needs more detail in the eyes. I don't have much to say about the bottom two. I've seen them a million times before.

If I had to guess I'd say you're trying too hard. What are you trying to get out of these photos? All in all they're extremely cliche. That doesn't make them technically poor but it makes them purposeless. Shooting people should be about the people. The processing is always secondary; some way of adding emphasis somewhere. It won't make an average photo better but it will make a good photo great. So I think you should start by aiming for a great shot and then worry about processing, because right now I think you're doing it backwards.

From a technical standpoint, the color muting is too obvious and amateur-looking. Tone it down a bit. Top left doesn't say anything to me. Top right needs more detail in the eyes. I don't have much to say about the bottom two. I've seen them a million times before.

If I had to guess I'd say you're trying too hard. What are you trying to get out of these photos? All in all they're extremely cliche. That doesn't make them technically poor but it makes them purposeless. Shooting people should be about the people. The processing is always secondary; some way of adding emphasis somewhere. It won't make an average photo better but it will make a good photo great. So I think you should start by aiming for a great shot and then worry about processing, because right now I think you're doing it backwards.