Critiques welcome!

chall33

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new and I figured a good way to start was to have some of my photos evaluated to kind of see where I stand. If you haven't read my intro it pretty much says that I am very new to photography. I've always liked taking photos but I am just now trying to improve and learn more. I just got the D40 in June and thats what I used to take all of these shots. These are just a few of the hundreds I've taken just getting to know the camera. It's definitely a learning process!

DSC_0333.jpg

DSC_0337.jpg

ring.jpg

otisblkwht.jpg

otiswise.jpg

DSC_0044.jpg

DSC_0169.jpg

I'm in the same boat as you, always enjoyed photography and just bought a D60.

But, I think your photos look very nice. I can't seem to get my shots as bright.

Comments per req:

1. An interesting idea, but too underexposed, and with too much distracting background to really work. One of the difficult things about learning photography is being able to distinguish scenes that should make a good photograph from those that do.

2. Much nicer. I'd brighten this up a little in post, and perhaps increase the saturation slightly as well. Additionally, I'd suggest cropping the OOF portions at top and bottom as they really add little to this image. Lastly it needs to be levelled; all the water is running out of the picture and on to my desk.

3. Very nicely done; good focus, nice exposure and good tones/colour. I think perhaps a shooting position slightly higher which showed more detail of the ring might have worked, but as-is, a very good capture.

4. Nice pose. In this case the OOF muzzle and the bright area image left (window?) are both very strong, and distracting elements. The dog has a very expressive face, and this would be well worth reshooting in better lighting conditions.