CS4 very slow and laggy.

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Johnboy2978, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Johnboy2978

    Johnboy2978 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southwest Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    50 views and no comments on the graphics program section leaves wanting to post here for increased views and perhaps some insight. Mods feel free to delete if it violates whatever.

    So I just downloaded the trial of cs4 extended. I have been using cs2 which works fine w/o any problems. On cs4, I notice a very distinct lag and also a weird thing w/ the crop tool in which it won't allow me to click in the dimensions window and type in the dimensions I want to crop. Instead, if I go to the left of the window, I can drag like there's an invisible slider there. Really strange. So any guesses why I am having these problems? I think my pc should still be up to the task and am not really willing to invest more money in my pc right now.

    Specs:
    Running Win XP Pro SP2
    Pentium 3.0GB core 2 duo processor
    4 gb DDR ram
    nVidia GeForce 7100/nForce 630i 512mb(which may be the culprit)
     
  2. SpeedTrap

    SpeedTrap TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It is the 4 gb DDR ram that is causing you the problems.
    Your system can only access just over 3 gig of ram and CS4 is a memory hog.
    So depending on you current RAM usage you may be falling short.
    CS4 was designed with 64bit systems in mind, I know when I changed my system over to 64 bit Photoshop quadrupled in speed because it can now access the 8 gig of ram I have installed..
     
  3. NateWagner

    NateWagner TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I dunno, for the most part your system is better than mine, and mine running cs4 has no problems like what you mentioned. The only time I've experienced slow down or crashing is when I'm doing a basic resize and for some reason or another have 300-400 open photos.

    (my setup is 2.5 ghz dual core, 256 mb video card ati 1650se, 6gb ram, windows 7 64bit)
     
  4. ANDS!

    ANDS! No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Downtown
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    CS4 will only take as much memory as you give to it. You can reduce the amount of memory that CS4 will use, but you should never really see that unless you've got multiple files open.

    The video card shouldn't necessarily be the problem unless you're allowing CS4 to take advantage of the video card you have. That might be causing your issues as it is letting the video card run aliasing and other graphical goodies on your images.

    As the previous poster said, memory isn't the problem, although you are wasting 1gig of it. Windows 7 can only use 4G worth of ram, so most definitely Windows XP is going to only let you use less.
     
  5. Johnboy2978

    Johnboy2978 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southwest Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I think the most annoying thing is the issue w/ the crop tool. Have you heard anything like that? I can't type anything in that window. I don't know. CS2 works fine, no problems or issues. I've unistalled and re-installed cs4 w/ the same issues. Maybe I'll just bag it and wait for the cs5 which I'm sure can't be too far down the road.
     
  6. SpeedTrap

    SpeedTrap TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    CS5 is rumored to be 64 bit only........
     
  7. Johnboy2978

    Johnboy2978 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southwest Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Just for kicks I downloaded the trial on my work laptop and it works fine. The specs for it are as follows:
    Win XP pro SP3
    Pentium Mobile 2.1GHZ
    2GB ram
    video card on board - mobile intel 965 Express chipset family w/ 384 mb ram

    do you think updating to SP3 would make a difference or is it just a fluke?
     
  8. frXnz kafka

    frXnz kafka TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Your specs are fine. I would guess there is a corrupt file somewhere or something. Maybe try uninstalling it and installing it again.
     
  9. ANDS!

    ANDS! No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Downtown
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Theres no way they are going to cut out a MAJORITY of their buying public by pushing to a 64-bit only system. Not a chance. It's like all major movie studios saying they are switching to Blu-Ray only and ditching DVD.

    Never, but Photoshop is prone to doing retarded things so I wouldn't put it past it. I would say it is most definitely nothing to do with your system, and the actual program itself.
     
  10. Johnboy2978

    Johnboy2978 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southwest Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Well after some tinkering and updating to SP3 (which did nothing but update me to SP3!) I found the problem. When I unchecked the box to link to where my cs2 filters/plugins were, everything worked fine. Not sure why this did anything, but that's the way it goes. After doing that, and reinstalling my plugins to CS4, it works fine, or seems to, at least.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cs4 slow windows 7
,
cs4 takes for ever to crop
,

motorola w384

,
nikon+d7000+vs+canon 7d
,
why is my crop tool slow in cs4