Curves in Photoshop Elements...

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by Steph, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. Steph
    Offline

    Steph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steventon, Oxfordshire, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am trying to learn some basic post-processing skills from tutorials found on the Internet. Unfortunately, most tutorials refer to the full Photoshop version and use tools such as Curves, which are NOT available in Photoshop Elements (I use Photoshop Elements 2.0 and cannot afford a full version of PS). Fortunately, after some Googling I found this interesting (and free :)) plugin, which allows the use of Curves in PSE2 (and other versions) and it seems to work fine. It also allows the use of Layer Mask and Channel Mixer (which is a more controllable way to convert pictures to B&W than the methods available in PSE2). I am not in anyway affiliated to Earthbound Light, but I thought other people on a budget might be interested.
  2. Overread
    Online

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,641
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2,934 / 0
  3. Steph
    Offline

    Steph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steventon, Oxfordshire, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The version you linked to is better as it displays the histogram at the same time. Unfortunately it does not work for PSE2.
  4. Overread
    Online

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,641
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2,934 / 0
    strange - it says on its site that it works for elements 1 through to 6?
  5. Steph
    Offline

    Steph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steventon, Oxfordshire, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You are right (I think). I misunderstood. My link is suitable for PSE1-3 and you apply Curves on a separate layer but don't have a histogram. Your link is suitable for all PSEs and you get a histogram but Curves is not applied on a separate layer (if that makes sense).
  6. Overread
    Online

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,641
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2,934 / 0
    hmm just tested - and if you duplicate your basic starting layer and then apply the filter to that layer it operates just like any other sort of filter - you can adjust it, turn it off (disable the layer) and use a layermask just like with ordinary editing
    ps before you ask - layermask tool:
    http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/pselements/qt/layermasktool.htm
    :)
  7. Steph
    Offline

    Steph New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Steventon, Oxfordshire, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oh boy... I am so new to this!!! I still have a lot to learn but I think I understand what you are saying.
  8. Overread
    Online

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20,641
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    UK - England
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2,934 / 0
    don't worry - I was in your shoes only last year :)
    just suffice to say layermasks are fantastic things for editing - you will probably see a lot of refrences to their use around the net so its very good to have the feature.
  9. kiso
    Offline

    kiso New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi! I downloaded and installed everything like the site told me to, however I'm using PSE2 and cannot find the curves selection.

    My computer has been restarted and you said that it does work on PSE2- Earthbound Light says to find everything under "Styles and Bins" but PSE2 doesn't have a tab labeled like that so maybe it's just under another secret folder? As I have searched everything I can on PSE2 but cannot find any Earthbound Light..
  10. ann
    Offline

    ann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,261
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +188 / 0
    perhaps things have changed as this thread is over three years old, and software changes rapidly. Sometimes it feels like every 24 hours :)

Share This Page