"D-slr Force-Fields?"Nikon D200 carrying-case and/or protection?

Dukemantee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all!

I just bought my Nikon D200 (5 days ago) and i should start off by saying i'm a student. I had to save up to buy this great camera and I want to protect it and care for it in the best possible way. It cost a lot and i'm afraid to carry it out even when there is the chance of rain.....

Well my question for any D-slr owners or D200 owners specifically is if any one out there has come across any amazing products to protect the camera itself. I'm willing to spend a decent amount in the category of "protection & care" of my camera. I know force fields have not been invented yet, but is there anything on the market that comes close, or can help me in this department. I want to have the camera around my neck at all times and in every setting: city, country, in a pool with everything except the camera not submerged..... I bet you all can imagine plenty hypothetical situations.... that include splashing, rain, sand, sparks, even some (light) banging or force applied to the camera body is what i want a solution for. In short, I want to buy "peace of mind" if that's possible with a $2000+ camera.

Maybe a hard plastic shell? or a jacket that covers everything except the front of the lens? These are things i came up with maybe they exist Can anyone help??

2) Aside from a possible "Shell/ case" does anyone know of any carrying cases that offer the D200 or D-slr's the best protection, may be even waterproof and protection from falling so i don't have to put the carrying case in my knapsack. ..... I had a really good laptop case for my macbook, i'm hoping for similar solutions for my Nikon D200..... I'm not looking for something big, I just want to go mobile with the camera, 3 lenses (1 on the camera), extra batteries, and room for the wireless Flash kit i will eventually buy for my nikon.