D200 grip....what batteries do you use?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by barebonephoto, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. barebonephoto

    barebonephoto TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puslinch, ON Canada
    I just got a D200 to play around with and I'm loving it.
    Except, I got the grip and I can't seem to make it work with the batteries I have.

    I'm using the Energizer rechergeable 2500mAh.

    They don't even give me enough juice to power up the screen.

    What am I doing wrong?
    Is there a better battery?

    Help....

    Emma
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Also, just to be sure...I think you have to use AA batteries in a holder of some sort. You probably couldn't even load them without it...so I'm sure you have it.
     
  3. barebonephoto

    barebonephoto TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puslinch, ON Canada
    Yes I have the holder....they just don't seem powerful enough.
     
  4. barebonephoto

    barebonephoto TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puslinch, ON Canada
    They don't even poer the menue screen long enough for me to change the battery type.

    Maybe I'll try it with the other battery and see what happens

    Thanks for the info.

    Emma
     
  5. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Have you tested the batteries in another device?
     
  6. barebonephoto

    barebonephoto TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puslinch, ON Canada
    Yes I have.
    And I just tried using the En-EL3e battery to set the menue for the other batteries and it didn't work.

    I think I need to read the manual more. I tend to jump in and ignor the boring book that comes with my gear.

    Thanks for the help though.
     
  7. fmw

    fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    135
    Mine is a D80 but similar. I've used it with one EN EL3E, with two of them and with the rechargeable AA's and it works just fine with all of them. I can't help but wonder if yours might be defective in some way, assuming you've charged the batteries fully.
     
  8. barebonephoto

    barebonephoto TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Puslinch, ON Canada
    I've tried 4 diffrent packs of the energizers.
    I did have just regular AA in and it lasted for about 50 shots.
    So the grip works. I just don't think it likes the batteries I'm using.
    Odd.
     

Share This Page