D200 Raw Files

spinxy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey,

i have just brought my first Digital SLR a complete beginner to photography,

i have set the camera to RAW fine, however when i pug the camera into the computer i have 2 files for every picture, one is a jpeg and the other is a nef file (i think) approx 4 times larger than the jpeg!!!
should i have file's with extension *.raw?!? what have i done wrong or is this normal.

i have also tried opening the nef file in photoshop hopeing this could be the unprocessed file but it won't open it!!

any help much appreciated

Hey,

i have just brought my first Digital SLR a complete beginner to photography,

i have set the camera to RAW fine, however when i pug the camera into the computer i have 2 files for every picture, one is a jpeg and the other is a nef file (i think) approx 4 times larger than the jpeg!!!
should i have file's with extension *.raw?!? what have i done wrong or is this normal.

i have also tried opening the nef file in photoshop hopeing this could be the unprocessed file but it won't open it!!

any help much appreciated

You have your camera set to do this (RAW+JPG settings). I would suggest that you start out by reading the manual. If you do not have one, it is available from Nikon in PDF format. Download it and read it over a couple of times. You bought yourself a prosumer camera... it is a good idea to know what it can and cannot do.

RAW files can be opened in Photoshop, but you have to use ACR (Adobe Camera RAW). The NEF file *is* Nikon`s implementation of a RAW file. Yes, it is also normal that it is 4 times larger than a JPG file.

NEF = RAW, these are bigger in file size as opposed to jpeg, because simply, it contains more data. the jpeg cuts out what it thinks is "ok" (i think im explaining it right)