D3100 - Moon Shots is it possible??

blueeyedsuzie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

I'm new to the forum, however not new to photography. I recently just bought myself the Nikon D3100. Last night we had a full moon, so I went out to try to take shots with my Nikon with the lens AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm 1:4-5.6G ED VR.

The shoots I was getting were very blurry (on a tripod, and hand held at one point). I honestly don't remember which setting I was in, but I did change the ISO setting... At one point I thought I had a good shot but it was still blurry but not as bad as a big bright white dot.

I tried it in auto, guide, and manual still didn't get a clear shot of the moon, and I know the moon was focus when I looked through the fiewfinder. The moon last night was beautiful, just wish I had the shots to prove it.

I am new to the DSLR world, which btw I really love my camera, it's a big step up from Fuji FinePix S2000hd. And I find I may never go back to that camera.

I like to do a lot of macro work, and last night I really wanted to take the shot of the moon and at one point I just got discusted with the fact I couldn't get it the way I wanted it. I know it's not the camera's fault.

If anyone can help I really would be grateful. If someone needs my shots to see what I did wrong, I can post them but it'll have to wait until Friday.

Remote shutter release.

I understand that, I'm actually in the process of getting that but what I want to know is what am I doing wrong?

I understand that, I'm actually in the process of getting that but what I want to know is what am I doing wrong?

How would we possibly know that without seeing the photos, and the settings you used to take it?.