D3100 Problem with Timer Mode

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by narfzz, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. narfzz
    Offline

    narfzz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So I just got my d3100 and realize that my camera doesn't properly switch to timer mode. It sees it as continuous modes instead and shoots like it's in continuous mode. So essentially I have TWO continuous modes on this camera instead of the basic four single, continuous, timer, and quiet shutter release.

    I read the manual thinking maybe I'm doing something wrong but realize it's really THAT simple--- switch to timer mode on the release-mode selector then shoot. Have anyone else heard of this problem? I figure I ask here before calling Nikon. Am I just a newb doing it wrong? I've googled with no luck.

    I just found out that Nikon just released a firmware update for this cam. I was hoping maybe this will solve the problem but before I do anything I figure I'd ask around first.

    (Sorry, I posted in the other thread. I figure I might get more responses if I made a new thread.)
  2. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Likes Received:
    4,204
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,299 / 8
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Did you set the self-timer delay in the menus?
  3. narfzz
    Offline

    narfzz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm pretty sure I didn't. I left everything as default unless that is the default option. I will have to check the camera when I go home during lunch to see.

    I also want to mention that if I move the release-mode selector back and forth a couple of times, it does switch correctly. This was while I was in guide mode but even then it still reads it as continuous mode most of the time. The icon doesn't show that it's in timer mode either, even though it's selected.
  4. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Likes Received:
    4,204
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,299 / 8
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Then it needs to be repaired.
  5. narfzz
    Offline

    narfzz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I was realllllllly hoping this wasn't the case. Thanks for your help!

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how do i gety self timer off my nikon
,

how do u set a d3100 nikon on timmer delay

,
how do you set timer on a nikon d 800
,

how to get the time setting off of a nikon 3100

,

how to set timer on nikon d3100

,

how to use timer on nikon d3100

,

nikon 3100 timer issue

,

nikon d3100 timer set

,

nikon d3100 turn off timer

,
take off timer on nikon d3100