LukeSalter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.lukesalter.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi Guys,
It's my First post here... I think im making the right descision but it's always good to take a second/third/100th opinion :)

I Currently have a

Nikon D3200 with Kit lense(18-55mm)
Nikon 35mm F/1.8
Nikon 70-200mm F/2.8

although im still learning, i do alot of volunteer photography for my local animal shelter and eventually will move into professional dog photography. Im starting to feel a bit limited in what the D3200 has to offer, (Seems like slow AF/focus tracking, no bracketing, lower quality images)

Would you guys say moving to FX now would be a good move? Specifically a D750? from what i read the 35mm is still useable on the D750 and i expect i would also get a Nikon 16-35mm f/4G lense to cover the wider angle. (I have some intrest in landscape aswell)

Big jump but if your going pro, it's a good investment. I think the DX glass will work in DX mode but at a lower MP if I recall correctly.

It works on an FX frame, just vignettes heavily, but the image circle does fill the sensor.

Last edited:
You can still use DX lenses on an FX camera. As mentioned if you shoot in FX mode the corners will be heavily vignetted as the glass isn't designed to cover the full frame of an FX camera. You can also shoot in DX mode, which for a 24 mp sensor would reduce the overall image size to something like 15 mp as I recall. You'd get the same FOV as a DX camera, but no vignetting