d40 menu help please

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by ILovePlaya, Nov 20, 2008.

1. ILovePlaya

ILovePlaya TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Trying to access auto off menu screen
    to adjust monitor on time.
    Cannot find it in custom settings.
    Thank's for any input.
    Craig.;)

2. puyjapin

puyjapin TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    go into custom setting menu (pencil icon) scroll to number 15(auto timers) and select then u can play abt how u want. ive just got a d40 too, im new to dslr and cant really get to grips with anything other than auto modes. I got a book abt the d40 by david busch which is ok but it assumes one knows the principles, which i unfortunately dont!

3. Adour

Adour TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Hi gents,

I too have recently bought a D40, and as well as some good advice knocking around on this forum, Ken Rockwell's website has been exceedingly useful: http://www.kenrockwell.com/

He deals with the D40 in detail explaning some of its nuances and also the world of digital photography in detail.

Hope this helps,

Adour

4. ILovePlaya

ILovePlaya TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thank's but that menu doesn't go to 15.
    Changed settings in cst(?) and still doesn't.
    Craig.;)

5. TamiyaGuy

TamiyaGuy No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Well, seeing as I have my D40 right in front of me, I think i may be able to help you :).

I think your problem here is that you only have "Simple" info enabled. So, to solve that, go into the meny, then the Setup menu (spanner icon), then go to CSM/Setup menu (at the top). From there, choose Full rather than Simple. I recommend you keep the menus this way throughout your ownership of the D40, it just opens up some neat features. After that, go to the Custom Setting Menu (pencil), and scroll down to 15: Auto Off Timers. Choose Custom, then select the duration you want. There is more info on each timer in the manual.