D4s

mikeschmeee

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is addressed to anyone who has plenty of D4s experience shooting in similar situations.

I've been photographing birds for a few years now but I'm still always learning so I don't consider myself anywhere near the amateur level. I'm still a beginner. Overall, I've been photographing for 8 years now. This does not include my off and on periods during my younger years.

Lets get right into it:

I'm shooting birds in flight with a D4s, 300mm f/2.8G ED VRII and TC-20E III teleconverter. Most of my images are out of focus when shooting birds in flight coming towards me. My current settings:

AF-C, release + focus, group area AF, focus tracking with lock-on is off, f/8, VR is on when hand held regardless of shutter speed, VR is off when on a tripod.

The camera will focus when I press and hold the shutter release button halfway to focus on the bird. Once focus is acquired, I press down the rest of the way and hold the shutter release button as a bird flies towards me, firing off multiple images (around 20 or so). When I preview the shots on the camera, the first two-five frames are alright but the rest of the 10 to 20 are out of focus. I had better luck with the same lens, teleconverter and similar settings on my D7100 and my D90 but the D4s is giving me a hard time. This is a new camera (bought on Jan 31, 2015) so I'm still learning but I'm interested to know if my settings are wrong? The lens and teleconverter were purchased late October 2014.

I also tried the following combinations:

AF-C, release, group area AF, f/8

AF-C, release, every dynamic-area AF, f/8

AF-C, focus, group area AF, f/8

AF-C, focus, every dynamic-area AF, f/8

When AF-C priority selection is set to release, I can shoot up to 44 shots with my SanDisk 64gb 160mb/s Compact Flash card but very little are in focus.