D5100 recommended starter equipment/filters/lenses

shents

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone, So I have my Nikon D5100, I haven't had time to use it as yet, it arrived yesterday, I was wondering what your thoughts are on good starter equipment, Also I must say I am going to China and need the best out of my camera I can, I want to be armed! I have also ordered a user guide to get the most out of my camera as the local photography class for beginners is full. Before my trip to China anyway. Bummer!

Go to filters, Ones that are a must!! and why those?

Tripod (I have read here that's important not to scrimp)

Most popular lenses (reasonably priced on a budget :)

Anything I will need that haven't mentioned due to inexperience

Thank you so much

I am fairly new to photography too and I've made a ton of purchasing mistakes. For starters I wouldn't even buy another lens until you get used to the camera and figure out what type of shooting you will be doing mostly. I bought 3 lens very shortly after I got my dslr and still to this day I use the kit lens almost all the time. Figure out what you like and take your time. Save up for a lens you really want and will fit your style.

Same goes for tripods, I'm on my 3rd one in a little over a year. Spend the extra couple bucks on a good tripod and head rather than buying one just to buy one. Again this also depends on how or what you plan on shooting. That too will probably change as you get more familiar.

The basics I would say to get would be a nice camera bag, extra batteries, a lens pen or other cleaning device and extra memory cards. That's really about it for stuff you should need at first. Spend any extra money on books or learning material until you get comfortable and can start making decisions based on what you shoot and what works best for you.